Thread Tools Display Modes
02/05/15, 11:41 AM   #1
dopiate
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 142
Can I detect Update 6?

I'm in a unique situation where my main addon is actually .NET

I would like it to detect if people are still using the old version with patch 5

in the UserSettings.txt I see to possible variables I can check when the program loads

SET ViewedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedAddOnEULAVersion "5"

will both of these increment to 6 once Update 6 has completed successfully ?

My issue is that if they users don't update they risk corrupting their databases and I would like to make sure my users have a smooth tranition.

Thanks,
-d
  Reply With Quote
02/05/15, 11:45 AM   #2
Garkin
 
Garkin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 832
Originally Posted by dopiate View Post
I'm in a unique situation where my main addon is actually .NET

I would like it to detect if people are still using the old version with patch 5

in the UserSettings.txt I see to possible variables I can check when the program loads

SET ViewedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedAddOnEULAVersion "5"

will both of these increment to 6 once Update 6 has completed successfully ?

My issue is that if they users don't update they risk corrupting their databases and I would like to make sure my users have a smooth tranition.

Thanks,
-d
Actually you should be looking into the AddOnSettings.txt. The first line is API version:

Live:
Code:
#Version 100010
PTS:
Code:
#Version 100011
  Reply With Quote
02/05/15, 12:02 PM   #3
dopiate
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Garkin View Post
Actually you should be looking into the AddOnSettings.txt. The first line is API version:
While I agree with you - you have to understand my unique situation.

I need to release something NOW that will refuse to run if if finds out GSA was not updated to the most recent version ONLY if Update 6 has been applied. Multiple variables to check!

I don't know when the update will happen and I need to know the update status before the offline GSA tries to import bad data.

So again I am back at Usersettings.text because as a .NET application I have to prevent it from running if the Update is live and the user has yet to update (since i can't release it early). Could you kindly check your Usersettings.text in PTS and let me know if my guess was correct?

do these values increment?

SET ViewedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedAddOnEULAVersion "5"

thanks,

-d
  Reply With Quote
02/05/15, 12:23 PM   #4
Garkin
 
Garkin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 832
Originally Posted by dopiate View Post
do these values increment?

SET ViewedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedAddOnEULAVersion "5"

thanks,

-d
No.

Live:
SET ViewedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedEULAVersion "3"

PTS:
SET ViewedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedEULAVersion "3"

But PTS has settings which are not present in Live version, so you might use it to detect version.
New settings:
SET MAGELIGHT_LIGHTS_VISIBLE "1"
SET FOVChangesAllowed "1"
SET AgreedToPEGI "1"
SET VoiceChatAutoJoinChannels.2 "0"
SET VoiceChatEnabled.3 "1"
SET ClampGroundTargetEnabled "1"


And again, AddOnSettings.txt will have "#Version 100011" only in case that Update 6 is installed.

Last edited by Garkin : 02/05/15 at 12:30 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02/05/15, 12:26 PM   #5
dopiate
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Garkin View Post
No.

Live:
SET ViewedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedEULAVersion "3"

PTS:
SET ViewedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedAddOnEULAVersion "5"
SET AcceptedEULAVersion "3"
Ok thanks :-( I have to find an Update 6 specific file or variable.

Just scanning through ever single addon's .txt manifest just seems like a lot of code when I know there has to be something? a new font? a new file? something specific to Update6.

-d
  Reply With Quote
02/05/15, 12:32 PM   #6
Garkin
 
Garkin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 832
Originally Posted by dopiate View Post
Ok thanks :-( I have to find an Update 6 specific file or variable.

Just scanning through ever single addon's .txt manifest just seems like a lot of code when I know there has to be something? a new font? a new file? something specific to Update6.

-d
I have never said that you should be scanning over addon's manifest. I said AddOnSettings.txt. This AddOnSettings.txt:

My Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\AddOnSettings.txt
  Reply With Quote
02/05/15, 12:35 PM   #7
Randactyl
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 251
I'm not totally understanding why you can't parse AddOnSettings.txt like Garkin initially suggested. It's one file in the user's ESO directory. You don't need to scan every addon's manifest.

if version == 100010
do stuff
elseif version == 100011
do different stuff
  Reply With Quote
02/05/15, 12:37 PM   #8
dopiate
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Garkin View Post
I have never said that you should be scanning over addon's manifest. I said AddOnSettings.txt. This AddOnSettings.txt:

My Documents\Elder Scrolls Online\live\AddOnSettings.txt
AHHHHHH..... sorry and thank you.

I saw you said AddOnSettings.txt but my brain was stuck on UserSettings.txt

Thanks again - problem solved!

Much apreciated.

-d

Randactyl: it was just me trying to sneak this stuff in at work and I got mixed up by reading his reply too fast.
  Reply With Quote
02/05/15, 12:43 PM   #9
Randactyl
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 251
Originally Posted by dopiate View Post
AHHHHHH..... sorry and thank you.

I saw you said AddOnSettings.txt but my brain was stuck on UserSettings.txt

Thanks again - problem solved!

Much apreciated.

-d

Randactyl: it was just me trying to sneak this stuff in at work and I got mixed up by reading his reply too fast.


(Just a smiley face is too short to submit. Have fun at work, I'm stuck in class.)
  Reply With Quote
02/06/15, 09:04 AM   #10
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 5,015
If you are talking abut an addon + external (windows) tool:

If I remmeber right there will be a new LUA function (GETApi() or somthing like this) to read the ESO API version, coming with 1.6 update.

You could let your addon execute this function and save it to the SavedVariables of the addon.
Your external tool can check the savedvariables file then and see if the api version is the correct one.

If the setting inside the savedvariables file is the wrong one, or is missing, you can show a message like:
"Please start ESO with addon XXX enabled and logout again after that, then restart my tool here".
  Reply With Quote
02/06/15, 10:19 AM   #11
Sasky
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 231
Originally Posted by Baertram View Post
If you are talking abut an addon + external (windows) tool:

If I remmeber right there will be a new LUA function (GETApi() or somthing like this) to read the ESO API version, coming with 1.6 update.

You could let your addon execute this function and save it to the SavedVariables of the addon.
Your external tool can check the savedvariables file then and see if the api version is the correct one.

If the setting inside the savedvariables file is the wrong one, or is missing, you can show a message like:
"Please start ESO with addon XXX enabled and logout again after that, then restart my tool here".
Going forward, that'll be viable. However, it requires an addon update and OP is worried about people who don't update their addon version before 1.6 goes live.

For a small note on usage: since the function doesn't exist in 1.5, you're essentially checking to see if it exists between 1.5 and 1.6. It's only really 1.7 onwards that you can directly use the API check function.
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » AddOns » AddOn Help/Support » Can I detect Update 6?


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off